HIV Implementation Science Fellowship

Initiated in 2019, the inter-CFAR Implementation Science Fellowship for Early Stage Investigators offers a cross-institutional, grant-focused training opportunity for early stage investigators working in the area of HIV. The NIH-funded Fellowship is an initiative of the inter-CFAR Implementation Science Working Group. Led by Dr. Sheree Schwartz from the Johns Hopkins University CFAR, the Fellowship brings together HIV & implementation science expert faculty across the CFAR network to train the next generation of HIV-focused implementation science leaders.

In 2019-2020, 27 inaugural fellows participated in the Fellowship, culminating in a two-day meeting in Baltimore in February 2020. The Fellowship was renewed for 2020-2021 and welcomed another cohort of 24 Fellows. Implementation Science Fellows are selected across the CFAR network to participate in the 6-month mentorship program, including both didactic online and applied small group training in IS methodology. Fellows are paired with mentors, focusing on the development of a grant application which incorporates implementation science methodology and/or training. The Fellowship culminates in a two-day grant refinement and networking workshop. 

The overarching goal of the fellowship is to support ESIs focused on HIV-related research with training and mentoring opportunities in IS to encourage and capacitate ESIs in the submission of successful IS-focused grants. Specifically, the objectives are:

  1. Fill an implementation science training gap among emergent HIV-focused investigators
  2. Support ESIs in the development of an implementation science focused grant
  3. Foster cross-institutional networking and mentorship opportunities for ESIs within the field of HIV-implementation science 

Mentoring Team: Dr. Stefan Baral (Johns Hopkins School of Public Health), Dr. Elvin Geng (Washington University in St. Louis), Dr. Vivian Go (University of North Carolina), Dr. Bhakti Hansoti (Johns Hopkins School of Medicine), Dr. Christopher Hoffmann (Johns Hopkins School of Medicine), Dr. Arianna Means (University of Washington), Dr. Sharmistha Mishra (St. Michael’s Hospital & University of Toronto), Dr. Denis Nash (City University of New York), Kenneth Sherr (University of Washington), Justin Dean Smith (University of Utah School of Medicine), and Patrick Sullivan (Emory University).

Eligibility and logistics: Spots are reserved exclusively for junior faculty (Assistant Professor, Research Assistant Professor and equivalent positions), post-doctoral fellows and exceptional senior-level PhD candidates.